Possession of Marijuana in Snohomish County
Help from an Everett Drug Crime Defense Attorney
Although the laws concerning marijuana in Washington have recently changed,
this does not meant that there are no regulations or rules which must
be followed. As such, if you have been arrested for a marijuana possession
charge, you may be feeling confused and concerned. Our Everett drug possession
attorney and legal team at the office of Thomas J. Cunnane, Inc. are seasoned
enough to handle serious and complex cases like this.
- Give us a call today at (425) 559-7970 and we’ll discuss the options
you have and the best legal defense.
Understanding Marijuana Possession Crimes
In the State of Washington, possessing under 40 grams of marijuana is legal.
Exceptions include possession on federal or tribal lands. If you have
been accused of marijuana possession of more than 40 grams, or if you
are facing felony possession, our Everett criminal defense lawyer can
protect you and your rights.
Penalties for Possession in Snohomish County
Depending on the circumstances of the alleged offense, such as the amount
of marijuana in question, you could be facing serious penalties. On top
of the possible misdemeanor or felony charge for possession, prosecutors
may also argue that you had intent to sell the illegal substance, increasing
your potential penalties. This is because more than 40 grams marijuana
possession is already considered a class C felony case and the penalties
- A few examples of the consequences you could face include:
Misdemeanor charge: Jail time for up to 90 days and a penalty of more or less $1000
If under 21 years old: In addition to jail time and penalties, you could also have your license suspended
More than 40 grams of marijuana: Potential 5 years imprisonment and a $10,000 fine
Call our office today at (425) 559-7970 and talk with an Everett drug
crime attorney who understands during a
free case consultation.